Our Move to Montessori

After a lot of research, I decided to pull my son out of the private Kindergarten program that he was slated to go into and put him into a wonderful Montessori school.  I have to admit that I was never crazy about the Kindergarten that he was signed up for.  The classrooms were dark, the teachers didn’t seem that enthusiastic and I felt I could give him so much more.  My best friend had asked me to do some research on the Montessori Charter school that was opening and in doing the research for her, I realized that Z would thrive in that environment.

I quickly checked out a few Montessori schools in our area and there were two that I loved.  One was way out of our league price wise and the other would be a stretch but my husband said we would make it work (especially if it gave me peace of mind for two years).  A few friends sent their children to the Montessori school I was looking at so when I was told there was room for my son, I asked all I could.  They raved about the program, the staff and the entire community and after seeing it for myself, I could understand why.  I had found the school for my little boy.  A place where he could grow, learn, make friends and be himself.  A place that would celebrate his interests, challenge him at his speed and LOVE him.  He will be there for two years (pre K and K) and then we will have to figure out what to do next.

This school has been wonderful for our family.  The Montessori methods are tried and true and it is as if they were created for my child 🙂  He is happy to go, loves his teachers and is learning so much.  He goes in the afternoon so that his little sister still gets to spend as much time with him as possible (he is her world).

So for the next two years, we are all set (pending we have an income to pay for it).  Where do we go after this??  That is a really big question.  One that is both unsettling and exciting all at the same time!

Leave a comment

Filed under School Time

We'd Love To Hear Your Thoughts....

