Friday Finds

I hope to share interesting tidbits and things I find on Fridays from here on out.  Here is an interesting quote from Steve Jobs,

“School was pretty hard for me at the beginning. My mother taught me how to read before I got to school and so when I got there I really just wanted to do two things. I wanted to read books because I loved reading books and I wanted to go outside and chase butterflies. You know, do the things that five year olds like to do. I encountered authority of a different kind than I had ever encountered before, and I did not like it. And they really almost got me. They came close to really beating any curiosity out of me.”

This was from an article written by Darell Hammond for the Huffington Post called, If We Don’t Let Our Children Play, Who Will Be the Next Steve Jobs? It talks about the need for open-ended play and exploration in order to inspire the types of minds like Steve Jobs.  Unfortunately the way families and schools operate today, there is little time left for children to explore, play and just be kids.  This fact could put minds like those of Steve Jobs on the Endangered Species List.

Leave a comment

Filed under Friday Finds

We'd Love To Hear Your Thoughts....

