What am I going to Be When I Grow Up???

I have been pondering this question a lot lately as I try to figure out which path we should take in my children’s education.  What do I want to be??  I have a bachelor’s degree in Zoology and a Masters in Elementary Education.  I found out quickly in college that the world of laboratories was not made for me (too lonely) and since leaving the world of Public School Education to have my babies, I don’t feel like I fit in there either.  So what should I be when I grow up??

If I do decide to go down the path of homeschooling with my children, I do not want to wake up 12 years from now (when they are in high school) and find myself out of a job with no prospects.  I want to make sure that whichever path we take, there is room for mom to follow her dreams…..whatever they may be.

My ultimate dream has always been to run an environmental education camp.  Two of my happiest summers were spent in this role (one year as a counselor and the next as director) and I still think that running a camp like this would be a dream come true for me.  I have also toyed around with the idea of opening a school, running an after school enrichment program, teaching a college class (I had a taste of this world when I was teaching), writing a book or going back to school for my PhD.  It is important to dream but it is more important to act on those dreams and to make them a reality.  I have a wonderful role-model in this…my husband.  He has always followed his dreams, taken risks and I am so proud of all that he has accomplished.  He is always encouraging me to go after that which will make me happy…..and for now my role as mommy has been that thing.  But as my kids grow they will need me less and it is time to figure out what my next project is going to be……it is all so very exciting and scary at the same time!

1 Comment

Filed under Mama

One response to “What am I going to Be When I Grow Up???

  1. Kacie

    You would be so great at all the things you mentioned..exciting stuff to ponder 🙂

We'd Love To Hear Your Thoughts....

