Getting Into Nature…Fishing!

My Getting into Nature posts are inspired by Richard Louv’s book, Last Child in the Woods.  I hope you will join me each week as I work to get my children outdoors and exploring the wonderful world around them.

In our state children under 12 do not need a license to fish.  In fact, my children have been “fishing” since the age of one.  Their poles have weighted objects at the end and are great for practicing casting without any injuries 🙂  My son started to fish with a hook last year (caught his first two fish!!!) but only does this when there is one on one adult help and that adult must be good at removing fish from the hooks and throwing them back in the lake (I am not this person :)).

Some might argue that fishing is a disruption to nature and in a way it can be.  But it is also a great way to teach patience, a great chance for children to quietly observe the natural world around them and a chance to learn not only about the creatures that they are trying to catch but other creatures that inhabit the same ecosystem.  For our family it is also a time for family bonding.  A chance for father to pass down to his children the art of fishing, just the same as it was passed down to him from his father.  Not too many fish are caught in our family but there are LOTS of laughs and smiles 🙂

2 Comments

Filed under Getting Into Nature

2 responses to “Getting Into Nature…Fishing!

  1. Mimi

    Opening day was always a big deal in our house… for about 5 years.
    Great memories! Between Krista’s horsing and Scott & Amber’s fishing there were lots of very early morning risings on the weekends full of fun and Allie’s donuts! 🙂 BTW… I wasn’t good at removing the fish from the hook… but I have a method I can pass along to you that I learned along the way! 🙂
    Hope to see you in some of these photos too!
    HUGS:)

  2. Maybe someday I can get back up to the lake and actually show you guys where the fish are.

We'd Love To Hear Your Thoughts....

