Summer Reading

This summer both kids are once again enrolled in our summer reading program at the library.  We had to take last summer off because my daughter was racking up some pretty hefty fines with all of the library books she was destroying 🙂  Our library does a great job with their summer program and there are lots of activities and raffles all summer long.

We have a chart in our kitchen to keep track of the books we are reading (sorry, I wish I had a picture).  We read A LOT throughout the day anyway but it is fun to keep track of how much we do read.  The program just started a week and a half ago and we are already up to 45 books.  Our Morning Snuggle before breakfast usually involves anywhere from 2-10 books.  The kids and I look forward to this time every day.  While we all work to wake up, I read to them while snuggling and sipping my coffee.   Snack and Story in the afternoon usually involves a few more books as well as my daughter’s nap time.  Bedtime involves the reading aloud of a few chapters to my son and another book for my little girl.  And usually there are more books sprinkled throughout the day 🙂

Over the past few years I have gone through reading spurts.  I would read a book or two and then take long breaks in between.  I missed my reading time and so for the New Year I made a personal goal to read 2 books per month (24 books this year).  I am proud to say that by the end of June I think I had already read 27 books!  I more than accomplished my year-long goal in 6 months.  I am so excited that the kids have picked up my love for reading and hope that it stays with them always.

Leave a comment

Filed under Reading and Great Books

We'd Love To Hear Your Thoughts....

