When Life Forces You To Slow Down….

P1080113

It is really funny how life works, I knew that with starting the GAPS Intro diet I would be tired and most likely not feeling well.  Many who have been through it recommend some time to rest but as a mom of two little ones, that didn’t seem likely.  Then life’s events (God’s work?) decided that I needed the rest after all and thus last Monday I pulled my back out.  This slowed me down a great deal but I still had the two littles to run limp after.  Enter Wally’s Fever Virus…..

Wally came home from school on Thursday with no interest in an after school snack, that was my first clue that something was wrong.  When he showed no interest in dinner, I knew that something was definitely up.  I am a bit of an ice princess so when I check my children’s heads with my hand they are always “feverish”, so I ran to get the trusty thermometer.  Sure enough he had a fever.IMG_4236

This fever lasted for 3 days and his energy level was very low.  This meant that we had 3 days of books, quiet games, movies and rest.  It has been a gift for me to have this time to rest.  I have been so lethargic and feel like I am getting over a bad flu.  They call this “die off” and I am so blessed to have such a supportive husband who has been my cheerleader as I go through this difficult transition.

So yes the laundry is piling up, the dishes need to be done and please don’t look in the bathrooms.  This family took the weekend to rest, heal and spend time together.  It was a nice change of pace and I think  because of it we are on the road to recovery.

Leave a comment

Filed under Family Life

We'd Love To Hear Your Thoughts....

