Friday Finds—Summer Reading (Kids and Adults)

Summer-clipart

This past weekend I was sick and had a lot of extra time in bed.  When I needed a break from my graduate course work, I decided to make my summer book list.  Now I am realistic and know that the very LONG list that I have on my summer book list will never be read in one summer, but it is nice to have one comprehensive list on my Cozi calendar 😉

So what’s on my list??  I will share some highlights in a moment but first I wanted to share with you two places to find great summer reads for you and the kids.

The first is for the grown-ups and you can find the Ultimate Beach Reading Guide for 2013 over at the Modern Mrs. Darcy’s blog.  This list is jam-packed with a wide variety of genre and Ann herself has read every book so there is a synopsis next to each one.  You need to subscribe to her site in order to get the list but is easy to do and FREE.

The second list is for kids and it can be found over on the Reading Rockets Website.  The kids and I printed out the list for kids ages 3-6, put it in our library bag and hope to make it through the list by the end of the summer.  We also have picked some of the books on the 0-3 and 6-9 year old lists, like the new Magic Tree House book and Not that Tutu.

So What is on my List??  Here are 10 of the many books on the list, they cover a wide array of genre (chick lit, education, classics, children’s lit etc.) and I wish I had more time to read so I could start them all right now!

I am crossing off the books as I read them….

1.  The Beach House by Jane Green 

2.  Bossypants by Tina Fey (for book club)

3.  Bet Me by Jennifer Cruise (for book club)

4. Free Range Learning by Laura Grace Weldon

5.  Emma by Jane Austen

6.  Nurture by Nature by Paul D. Tieger and Barbar Barron-Tieger

7.  Having a Mary Heart in a Martha World by Joanna Weaver

8.  Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L’Engle

9.  Get Your Fats Straight by Sarah Pope

10. Phantom Tollbooth by Norton Juster

What are you planning on reading this summer???  If you have any good recommendations for me, I’d love to add them to my list!

2 Comments

Filed under School Time

2 responses to “Friday Finds—Summer Reading (Kids and Adults)

  1. Kristen

    I have two copies of Emma, so when you get to that one–let me know and you can borrow it!

We'd Love To Hear Your Thoughts....

