Hanging with Mr. Darcy

Mr-Darcy

Like many out there, I love Pride and Prejudice.  It is my all time favorite book and the BBC version of the movie with Colin Firth as Mr. Darcy is one of my favorite movies!  It is a long movie, just over 5 hours, so I usually only watch it once a year.  A few weeks ago I checked it out of the library, knowing that Scott was going to be out of town.  I had planned to watch it over two nights but ended up staying up WAY TOO LATE so that I could watch it all in one sitting.  The next day I ended up watching disc 2 again…I just LOVE that movie (great Christmas present idea for me)!!!

12243636

Watching the movie always puts me on a huge Pride and Prejudice kick.  I did not want to read the book again, as I have read it 4 times already, so I reread my favorite sequel The Darcy’s of Pemberley by Shannon Winslow.  I have tried out many sequels to the famous novel but was unable to finish any of them.  The Darcy’s of Pemberley is tastefully done and written very much in the style of Jane Austen.  I am happy with the way the author develops the characters and their story and there is just enough drama for me (I am not big on too much drama).  After finishing The Darcy’s of Pemberley in a few days, I found the sequel to my favorite sequel.  The book Return to Longbourn gives readers a glimpse of Mary’s life, a character not very developed in either of the other books.  It is a great story so far and I love that Lizzy, Jane and the infamous Mr. Darcy do make appearances.

return-to-longbourn-book-cover-web

I am hoping that this will be the end of my Pride and Prejudice kick for awhile.  There are so many other books sitting on my night stand and waiting for me in my kindle.  It is sad to admit but I really only have one month to give Mr. Darcy each year…..until next year Fitzwilliam!

1 Comment

Filed under School Time

One response to “Hanging with Mr. Darcy

  1. Dear Jess,

    I know that Krista would be right there reading and enjoying it with you.

    That was also one of her all time favorite stories and that version especially endearing.

    We watched it more than once together on BBC (PBS)channels.

    We always pictured that the part of Elizabeth Bennet was made for her.

    Heartwarming memories.

    Colin…, Kudos to your legacy.

    Love you for bringing that to mind.

    Have a great week.

    GpJ & Mimi

We'd Love To Hear Your Thoughts....

