Kicking the Summer Bucket List to the Curb

DSC02099

I am trying to figure out when the Summer Bucket List started….I feel like we started them before Z was born.  Every summer Scott makes a comment that the summer is almost over once July 4th hits and this usually lands me in a panic.  We started the list so that we could make sure to do our favorite things before the short New England summer passed us by.

So why don’t I want to make a list this year??  Because they stress me out!  They take the spontaneity and fun out of summer because I obsess over what we have not yet accomplished instead of focusing on the here and now.

IMG_3151

I am list person, I have them EVERYWHERE and those lists often save me when my brain is swirling and I can’t seem to remember a thing.  I have learned over the last few years that I am a calmer and more chill person when there are no lists.  Years ago Scott challenged me not to wear a watch and it changed my life!  I went from be obsessed with time to calming down and learning to go with the flow and rely on the time pieces around me.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

I know I can’t kick my list habit but I can kick the Summer Bucket List to the curb.  This summer we are not making too many plans and will be going with the flow.  This summer we are not going to be held to a list but instead will live in the moment.  It will be a summer of books, popsicles, swimming and adventures.  I can’t wait to see what we will be doing this summer!

1 Comment

Filed under School Time

One response to “Kicking the Summer Bucket List to the Curb

  1. Mimi

    Sounds good!… Summertime and the living is easy… 🙂

We'd Love To Hear Your Thoughts....

