“You Can Do That in the Old Home…..”

photo 4These were the words out of my dear sister Kristen’s mouth after I shared my 40 before 40 list.  I think I have mentioned this list before, Scott and I have worked together to compile this list and unfortunately it is still not complete.  On this list we have space for 10 items for things we want to do as a couple, 10 items for things we want to do as a family and 10 items each that we want to do individually.  We have not yet picked out all 40 items and hope to do this by Scott’s birthday in August.  That will give us a few years to complete the list.

We have already knocked a few things off the list (Napa Trip was one of them) and when looking at the list it is very travel heavy, thus very expensive.

So what is on my individual list??  Why would Kristen say that my list was for any 80-year-old person??  Here is what I have so far.

1.  Read Jane Austin’s 6 major novels (I have two more to go on this one)

2.  Learn to Knit (I have the basics down but ways to go)

3.  Sew a Quilt by hand (it is started)

4.  Take a Bird Watching  Class

5.  Have a girls weekend with my best friend

6.  Do a proper downward dog yoga pose

So yes, looking at this list you could say that I am an old soul.  My sisters want me to add sky diving, swimming across the lake and other things that “young people” might do.  I however do not want to do those things…..I have no desire to jump out of a plane or pass out from swimming across our big cove.  I have already accomplished my goal of running a half marathon, waterskiing after a 20 year break, rock climbing and beating my best 5 K time, what is wrong with wanting to achieve less physical things?

hr-0717-273-187--0717273187007

Maybe I am an old soul.  When Scott took the kids out to ice cream the other night, he asked me what I was going to do with my time alone.  I told him that I was going to sit and do the crossword puzzle.  He looked at me with a quizzical look and said, “Really?”    I happen to find crossword puzzles both challenging and relaxing and a good way to spend some time alone.  But so does his 94 year old grandmother……

I need help with the last 4 items on my individual list.  If you have any ideas that you think sound like ME, please feel free to share them in the comments.  Maybe I should add swimming across the lake WITH my two sisters??

3 Comments

Filed under School Time

3 responses to ““You Can Do That in the Old Home…..”

  1. Mimi

    Your list is not for “OLD” people… It’s meditative in nature… and I think that speaks to the fact that you are so physically and mentally active most of the time so it is reasonable that your personal list might have you seeking out activities that feed the soul. I have one suggestion for you: Write & Publish a children’s book… 🙂 BTW… from what I see in the “old” homes… many or most of the residences can’t do much that is on your list.

  2. How about writing fan letters to each and every one of the cast of the Brady Bunch! 🙂

  3. I love crossword puzzles! Love that you waterski! You go girl.

We'd Love To Hear Your Thoughts....

