Bucket List Item=Check

IMG_0748IMG_0737

This past Saturday morning, I was up with the birds at 4am.  My friend Kori and I got to go on our first hot air balloon ride.  To say I was nervous was an understatement, I was a ball of excitement, nerves and fear.  Going up in a hot air balloon has been on my bucket list for years.  I would have added it to my 40 before 40 list, had I thought it possible with all the other expensive items on our 40 list.  Well not only did I add it to the list on Wednesday when Kori asked me, I crossed it off on Saturday morning and had an amazing time doing it!

IMG_0710IMG_0726

The balloon pilots called it a “Ten Day”.  We had little wind, great temperatures and a crystal clear day.  When up in the air we could see both Boston and the Atlantic Ocean (both about a 45 minute drive).  It was so much fun to watch the balloons get filled up, jump in the basket and float away.  I have to admit when we first started lifting off the ground, I was a bit terrified.  But once up in the air in the quiet of the morning with the sun rising, I felt very safe.  My only fear at that point was dropping my phone as I took pictures.

IMG_0714

We floated about 7 miles and our landing couldn’t have been softer.  Our group of 8 passengers, pilot and 2 crew (the crew followed us on the ground) worked together to put everything away.  It was amazing that such a big balloon fit in such a little bag.

IMG_0756

When I got home, Scott asked me if I had now conquered my fear of heights.  I explained that my fear is not one of heights but of falling.  If I feel secure, heights don’t bother me at all.  I can be on tall buildings looking down and even looked down from the balloon at 600 feet because I felt secure in the basket.  Now if it had been windy, there may have been tears.  I am not sure I would have felt as secure in wind, but for now I am happy to say that I have checked this item off the bucket list and hope to do it again someday.

IMG_0769

Right before we put the kids to bed that same night, Scott went out on the deck to check on the grill.  You will never believe what was floating over our house?!?!  Two of the three hot air balloons that had gone up that morning.  It was so interesting that the balloon I rode that morning was one of the last things I saw before I fell fast asleep.  The kids loved seeing them float over our house and waved up to them.  It was the perfect way to end a GREAT day!

IMG_0774

1 Comment

Filed under School Time

One response to “Bucket List Item=Check

  1. That is so cool! I’ve never been in a balloon, I think it would be so fun.

We'd Love To Hear Your Thoughts....

