Science Camp

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Last week was a very special and busy week for our family.  Lil’C attended a Princess Camp with her good buddy and Z joined me as I led a Science Camp.  Science Camp ran Monday-Friday and I had six AMAZING campers and one FABULOUS assistant.  I ran the camp out of my dear friend’s mother’s house and we all had so much fun learning and playing.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

I had so many ideas for topics while planning camp and so I let the boys vote on which four things they wanted to focus on.  Day one we learned about Simple Machines and focused on Levers.  They made catapults, launched marshmallows and then made a big lever to launch stuffed animals.

IMG_2066

Day 2 was all about WATER.  They learned the steps of the water cycle, learned how little fresh water is on this planet and the importance of taking care of it, learned the phases of water, did an oil spill lab and then had some water FUN (it was a wet day).

IMG_2142Day 3 we did science activities around LEGOs.  The boys built structures that could withstand an “earthquake”, made balloon powered LEGO cars, made a Stop Motion LEGO movie and built bridges.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Day 4 was all about Gooey Science.  We learned about chemical reactions, polymers and alchemy 🙂  We made snot, bouncy blubber, put Mentos in Diet Coke and played with Oobleck!  I then let them make their own “Elixers of Life” with kitchen ingredients.  It was SOOOO Much Fun!

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

The last day we did Science Camp Trivia, awards were handed out and we watched a movie that I made of the week. They then feasted on Waffle Sundaes.  It was a great way to end the week.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

It was a busy week but there is not one thing I would change.  The group of kids were phenomenal and I had so much fun with all of them.  Every boy was polite, appreciative and very enthusiastic about all we did.  On the third day they said that they wished Science Camp was EVERY DAY of the summer.  One of them also pulled me aside, gave me a hug and told me that he understood how much work I was putting in.  You can’t get any sweeter than these kids!

IMG_2227

To thank me they created a song about science camp set to the tune “Everything is Awesome”.  The song they sang was “Science Camp was Awesome” and it brought me to tears.  I couldn’t have asked for a greater thank you.  They also made me this incredible summer gift basket.

IMG_2229

It was a teary last day for me.  I so appreciated the chance to spend the week with a great group of boys and all of the kind words that their parents shared were the icing on the cake.  I am so thankful for this wonderful experience, thanks Claire for making it happen!

IMG_2168

 

2 Comments

Filed under School Time

2 responses to “Science Camp

  1. Mimi

    Bravo! Take a bow:)

  2. You rock, Jess! Dominik learned so much and had such fun. So now you are on the hook for next year too!! 🙂 xooxo

We'd Love To Hear Your Thoughts....

