3 Generation Road Trip

photo 3

This weekend Z and I went with my dad down to NJ/NY to visit with family.  We only see them about once a year and so it was nice to get down there to be with all of them.  It was a jam packed weekend and Z was a trooper as we spent a TON of time in the car.

photo 1

About an hour in to the journey….

Early Saturday morning, my dad, Z and I all got in the car and headed south.  Our first stop on the family road trip was to see my aunt in NY.  My cousin’s fiance Sandy was there as well and we enjoyed a nice lunch with both of them.  It was great to catch up with my Aunt Lucia and get to know Sandy better.  The food was great and my aunt bent over backwards to accommodate all of our food needs.  It was a great way to start our trip (Thanks Aunt Lucia!!).

Our second stop was my great aunt’s house on the NYC/NJ border.  We had visited she and my cousin Mary Lou on our road trip over the summer and it was nice to see them again so soon.  Two of my dad’s siblings and two of my cousins rounded out the gathering.  I hadn’t seen my cousin Chris in about 10 years and it was great to see him.

photo 2

We visited for a bit and then headed out for an early dinner.  My great aunt is 93 years young and so spry and fun to chat with.  She wasn’t going to join us at the restaurant because she wasn’t feeling well but after visiting for a bit, “jumped” up and said, “I’m going and I am going to have a beer!”.   I am glad she rallied because it was fun to hear the family stories around the table at dinner.

photo 4

A picture of my great Aunt, taken by Z

After that visit, we headed to the hotel.  Z was MOST excited about this and couldn’t wait to see the room and check out the pool.  We got to relax for a bit and Z took a quick swim before we headed to our next destination.

photo 5

Lake Friends!!

Good friends from the lake live only 25 minutes from where we were staying and so we couldn’t pass up the chance to see them.  We enjoyed a short but fun visit with them.  Z was getting punchy by this time and really just wanted to go back to the hotel to relax.  You can’t really blame him, it was 8pm and he had had a long day of driving and listening to adults chat.

photo 2

Such a fun day!

Sunday morning brought an adventure just for Z!  After breakfast we headed to Legoland Discovery Center in NY.  We had been there before a year and a half ago but that didn’t hinder Z’s excitement.  He was bouncing off the walls and soooo excited to share this adventure with Chi Chi.

photo 3

NYC in LEGOs

We had a great time at Legoland and hit everything.  On the way home we hit my favorite deli, Reins.  I got a bucket o pickles and we had lunch.  It was a great way to end our weekend.

photo 4

LEGO race track, Z won

We had a really great weekend.  It was fun to spend time with my dad and see so many people.  It was our first 3 generation road trip and I hope it was the first of many more to come!

photo 5

1 Comment

Filed under School Time

One response to “3 Generation Road Trip

  1. WOW – what a jam packed trip! So glad it worked out and you had so much fun!

We'd Love To Hear Your Thoughts....

