Getting Into Nature….If You Find A Rock

My Getting into Nature posts are inspired by Richard Louv’s book, Last Child in the Woods.  I hope you will join me each week as I work to get my children outdoors and exploring the wonderful world around them.

Today is all about Rocks!  I don’t know about you but I LOVE rocks.  I use to collect them as a child and even still have one of the rocks I found at the bus stop when I was little.  This love of rocks (and shells) has been passed onto my children and they now have a mini collection of their very own.

The kids and I came across the book, If You Find a Rock, this spring and we adore it.  It is by Peggy Christian and it is all about the different types of rocks that you may find in your travels.  No it is not a scientific book that will teach you how to identify the different rocks and minerals….it is a book for young and old about the different functions that rocks have 🙂  There are skipping rocks, wishing rocks, splashing rocks, sifting rocks, resting rocks and so many more.

I developed a Rock Scavenger Hunt that the kids and I will try to complete in our travels this summer.  It will stay on our clipboard in my backpack and every time we find one of the rocks mentioned in the book, we will make an X our list and take a picture of the rock or maybe even keep it if possible.  Between hunting for rocks, birds and license plates from other states (I think we have 25 so far)….we will be very busy this summer!

If you would like your own copy of my Rock Scavenger Hunt….Click Here 🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under Getting Into Nature

We'd Love To Hear Your Thoughts....

